How does Quilibrium handle network partitions?

As a node runner, after the release of version 1.4.18 on the dashboard, I noticed that most of my nodes became isolated. From my limited understanding of blockchain, this could be likened to a fork (I understand Quilibrium is not a blockchain).

My concern is about network partitioning potentially leading to node isolation, resulting in data inconsistency and the risk of double-spending attacks. So by studying and running nodes I have the following two doubts:

• How does Quilibrium’s architecture address the impact of network partition attacks on transaction validation and recording?

• Specifically, what mechanisms are in place to mitigate and resolve these issues to ensure the system’s consistency and security?

I am not a cryptography expert, just a novice researcher in blockchain. The above information was gathered through GPT-4’s reading of the Quilibrium whitepaper.

1 Like

Network partitions are indeed like a fork. I’m going to review what happened in 1.4.18 first that caused it, and then answer the questions you had in particular.

Root Cause
When 1.4.18 landed, a lot of nodes dropped from the mesh: some dropped because they were not behaving correctly, others dropped because they were using a hosting provider that disallows crypto, and the higher cpu usage in 1.4.18 finally raised a tripwire for those hosts. (We have repeatedly discouraged people from using hosts that disallow crypto.)

Downstream Impacts